Finding North !!

Cool Tips

Do you know of whom I’m jealous of the most – The London Cabbie. I read it somewhere that they use nearly 6 percent of their brains as opposed to four percent used by the rest of us. I assume that means they never get lost. I on the other hand I’m challenged with my sense of direction. Even after living in a city for more than five years I still have to ask people for directions.  So I get immense joy when I see articles with headings like ‘Never get lost’ or ‘Find your way in a new city’

I don’t know how useful it will be for me to find North in a new city, but the below tip from “Lifehacker” is at least as easy to do as it says:

1. Take into account the cursed daylight saving by subtracting 1 hour in summer time (moving the hour hand counter-clockwise 1 hour).
2. Face your analog watch, align it so that the hour hand points in the direction of the sun (you might have to twist your wrist a bit, or take it off).
3. Now imagine a line starting from the center of the dial halving the angle between the hour dial and 12 o’clock. This line will point south.

Hope we bump into each other when we are lost..

2 thoughts on “Finding North !!

Leave a Reply

